Here I was, yet again, on the road with my toddler in tow & heading towards the mountains. There has been no break from work that can keep me rooted at home. So off we went on a 290 kms drive from Delhi to the land of adventure & holy vibes. Rishikesh, by now well known as an adventure destination in India and the place where River Ganga flows through offers something new every time you are there. I love the clean crisp air, the towering mountains, roads cutting through forests and the morning chirps of Himalayan birds. 

Though I was up for the road travel, once there I just wanted to have a relaxed time with my family & thus we came to choosing Raga on the Ganges as our stay in Rishikesh. The hotel is located around 32 kms ahead of Rishikesh right on the banks of the river and offers much needed peace that we city dwellers crave for.

Wake up in the morning to the chirping of birds, monkeys hopping across trees, cool Himalayan air and the river gushing by. What more could you want right. To top it all this hotel also had an infinity pool with views of the mountains. It has a lot of positives & I would definitely recommend this place if you’re out looking for a relaxed weekend away from city life.

Hotel: Raga on the Ganges

Location: Singtali, 32 kms from Rishikesh

What to expect: Clean modern rooms, all rooms offer views facing the river & mountains, Restaurant with a view, Good Indian food, a swimming pool and hospitable staff. The hotel does not serve alcohol but you can arrange your own.

My tip: Opt for rooms lower down in the hotel. They offer bigger rooms & great sitting areas outside. Avoid Chinese food from the restaurant. Stay here if you want a quiet peaceful stay as it is a little far from civilization.

My rating: 3.5/5

Please note all opinions are my own based on personal experiences. 

What is your favorite place in Rishikesh? I’d love to hear in the comments below

