Sibenik, a quiet town in central Dalmatia is a non-assuming place. It was not part of my visit at all at first, but thanks to my guide ‘Boba’ who insisted I take a walk across this old town.  Sibenik, I hear is a historic town which is also the place where the famous Krka river meets the Adriatic Sea.

After a wonderful walk across the Krka National Park & a nice swim in its cold waters, we headed for Sibenik.  We had just enough time to walk across the alleyways of the old town with its white Labyrinth walls inviting us to walk further into the streets. Sibenik is the oldest Croatian town & the first one to get electricity from the Krka waterfalls. Settlement here started when the Croats built a fortress overlooking the sea.

I was so mesmerized by the town with its beautiful Roman & Renaissance period architecture, narrow alleyways & cute little cafes serving authentic Croatian cuisine.  Have a look at the pictures below to know why Sibenik stole my heart.

img_1934
Old town square of Sibenik
img_1938
Walking up the town of Sibenik

img_1935

img_1936

img_1941

img_1951

img_1954

img_1955

img_1960

*All photos are clicked by me unless otherwise mentioned.

More on Croatia here.

