Bali has been up there on almost all the travel bloggers list that I follow and also a favorite honeymoon getaway. It got me wondering what was so special about it. Sure, I love exploring every inch of the amazing world if I could, but it is after all islands and beach right. Intrigued by the fondness for Bali, I took off with my partner this December to explore the Island in Indonesia.

When I stepped into Bali I knew why it’s so special. Read on to know why.

The people

Extremely friendly and always smiling. Right from the concierge to the driver to the locals, we encountered some really sweet people. And what really makes a place, it’s people right!

The Islands

The beaches were crowded due to the holiday season but if you know where to go, there are some really nice hidden beaches for the much needed peace you’re looking for from where you sit & stare at the vast ocean & beautiful sunset. And of course the Gili Islands. Though Gili Trawangan (Gili T as it’s called)  is pretty commercial now, I would highly recommend heading to Gili Meno. Staying in Gili Meno at Avia Resort was among my best rated experiences in Bali. We could just relax by the beach or head out snorkeling on a whim.

img_9272

Ubud

Oh! What can I say about Ubud. When I think of it I am all smiles. Lush green paddy fields coupled with some adventure. We had the privilege of time to spend one entire day rafting along the Ayung River and it was a marvelous experience. The rocks along the river have ancient mythological carvings which are a treat to the eyes and both sides covered in thick forests. Totally recommend a rafting experience.

img_9320

Food 

Though not a foodie, but I do like to try out all sorts of cuisine and Indonesian cuisine did not disappoint. If you have the luxury of time you should also try out cooking classes by Paon Bali cooking class. Heard a lot about it.

img_9234

Culture

Bali is a cultural haven. You will see temples at every nook & corner & offerings of incense and flowers almost at every shop and home. And some brilliant temples to visit are Tanah Lot and Uluwatu.

img_9278

Vibe

I loved everything about Bali especially it’s vibe. A relaxed laid back stress-free place. So if you’re looking for a getaway from your daily routines, you know where to head.

Bali, for me was also special for another reason. I got to spend so much time by myself working out, relaxing and sleeping which seems a luxury back home 🙂

Liked this post? Show some love and Like / Share /Pin this post. 

Anything else you’d like to know in Bali, drop in a comment below.

 

